So I’m going to be in a book…

… not me personally, but one of my stories will be.

You may remember a while ago that I was shouting about being on the shortlist to have a horror story published (along with 49 others) in Twisted50: a compilation of 50 short horror stories brought about by the Create50 team.

content_winner

Naturally I’m over-the-moon at this news, and having my story reach this stage means I now get to attend the the gala launch and awards ceremony in London at some point in the near future, where the final awards will be handed out.

The writing in this completion was very strong and I’m really surprised to have made it this far. And like the photo says, I do feel like a winner as getting into the book was always my goal. And did I mention that this is not going be a self-pub, but a real book with a real agent (Blake Friedman) and everything?

I’m starting to wonder if I could go on to be awarded one of the additional awards too? I mean I’m now begining to believe that anything is possible.

Furthermore, the organisers felt so many amazing stories were submitted that they have come up with a companion book called Twisted’s Little Sister, which is 50 of the best stories that didn’t make the final cut. And guess what? I’ve got a story in there too. It’s all a bit much to comprehend really.

That aside, I think one of the most exciting aspects to this is that Clive Barker (Candyman, Hellraiser) is one of the judges, which means he is going to read one of my stories…  one of my stories. Imagine, Clive Barker sitting down and reading something written by little ‘ole me.

So there we are. Just an update of what’s happening in my writing life. I’ll be in touch after the launch party.

I love saying that.

Thanks for reading.

12 comments on “So I’m going to be in a book…

  1. Jorge Argibay says:

    Well done Gareth! I’m pleased but not surprised: I always knew you’ll make it. Looking forward to reading that story (and many others)

    • gpeynon says:

      Thanks, Jorge. It means a lot, although I won’t feel I’ve truly made it until I get a proper novel published, but all journeys start with a single step…

  2. Kate Loveton says:

    What wonderful news. Congratulations!

  3. jamesr403 says:

    Congratulations! A double win is awesome! I think you should take pictures of the awards party and post them. And . . . Clive Barker — wow! i still remember the first time I saw “Hellraiser.” Anyway, congrats again.

  4. Adan Ramie says:

    Amazing! Congratulations on both stories being published. Having a horror great reading one of your stories personally must feel like you’ve just won the publishing lottery. I think I would pass out if someone like that was reading one of my horror tales!

    • gpeynon says:

      Oh yes, I think the only thing that could top that would be if Mr King himself were to take a look.

      • Adan Ramie says:

        That would be one of those Touching the Stars moments, wouldn’t it? I think I would lose my mind a little!

  5. How awesome, great work!

Anything to add?