Sage words of advice from an awesome author…

So I’ve just finished the astounding book Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann, and while this is not a book review, I shall take second to advise anyone to read it:

Go read this book. It’s brilliant.

Done.

Anyway, at the back of this novel is a Q&A session with the author where he says this about his readers:

Screen Shot 2015-09-01 at 12.31.01“As writers we have to respect and like our readers. I want to acknowledge that they have taken a chance and that, more than likely they’re smarter than me, or more courageous, or at the very least they will continue the book further than I can. They can complete the story.”

Colum McCann

This is wonderful quote that I think any writer should take note of. Hence the reason I stuck it in a post.

Thanks for reading.

6 comments on “Sage words of advice from an awesome author…

  1. A great quotation, thanks. It’s so easy to presume upon readers and take them for granted…

  2. […] yesterday I posted a quote a from Colum McCann that I found in a Q&A at the back of his book Let the Great Word […]

  3. […] come to their own conclusions about the way a certain character is feeling. As I mentioned in a previous post, the reader is often more intelligent than us authors, so let them do the imagining. I’ve […]

Anything to add?

