Learn from my mistakes… please: Three things not to do when querying agents.

So I’ve now finally entered the part of my adventures into publishing where I begin to query agents. It was never a part that I looked forward to, and I’ve already gone and made some catastrophic blunders.

Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 12.46.52

I know that a few others who read this blog are around the same stage as me, so I shall share with you said blunders as a reminder to… well, to not make the same mistakes.

Blunder #1

I only went and left a typo in my cover letter didn’t I? Instead of telling these agents that I am currently working on my second story, I told them I was currenty working on it. Doh! This letter went out to seven agents before I noticed. I just hope they like currents…

Blunder #2

I noticed a typo in the ninth paragraph; not a massive one, but a typo nonetheless.

I mean typos? Flipppin’ typos? Me? (Some of you may already know how I feel about typos)

This version went out to ten agents. Grrrrr.

Blunder #3 (and this was the worst of them all I think)

I queried an agent and didn’t attach the bloody manuscript to the email. Idiot, idiot, idiot.

Still, at least he was pleasant enough to tell me, as opposed to just brushing me aside for the fool that he must think I am. I’m not a fool, you, know. I’m just a little too easily distracted sometimes, and I’m new at this game. But that’s still no excuse.

Thankfully this only went out to one agent.

And so then… notes-to-self and lesson to be learned:

  • Have someone proof read your cover letter.
  • Have someone proof read (not just edit, but PROOF READ) the sections of manuscript that you are attaching.
  • Check, double check, and then double check again that you actually did attach said manuscript.

Believe me; I shall NOT be making these mistakes again.

Does anyone else have any minor pitfalls they’d like to share that are so easily encountered, and yet can have disastrous effects on a querying campaign? If so, I’d like to get them addressed sooner than later…

Thanks for reading.

5 comments on “Learn from my mistakes… please: Three things not to do when querying agents.

  1. Kate Loveton says:

    If I ever get to having anything of value to send out, I will keep these comments in mind. Thank you – and good luck!

  2. I think I will become a crazy person when I begin to query – checking and rechecking and then checking everything again before I hit send.

Anything to add?

