10 Bits of Stellar Writing Advice from J.R.R. Tolkien

Just read these great writing tips from Tolkien and had to reblog. But Writers In The Storm don’t seem to have a reblog button any more so you’ll just have to follow this link instead:

http://writersinthestormblog.com/2014/08/10-bits-of-stellar-writing-advice-from-j-r-r-tolkien/#comment-58373

Number six definitely struck a chord with me. That’s pretty much my style of writing.

2 comments on “10 Bits of Stellar Writing Advice from J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. Number 7 was my favorite. “Dreams give us inspiration.” It’s true. I often have vivid dreams, both during the day and night. It’s those dreams that have inspired me to write some really good scenes. Sometimes when I dream I end up wanting to live that dream over and over. Writing about the dream, and integrating it into fiction is the best way to do that.

    Great advice. Who doesn’t appreciate J.R.R. Tolkien?

  2. Jenny Hansen says:

    Thanks so much for linking to our post at WITS! I hope your readers enjoy the points as much as I did when I found them.

Anything to add?

