Do I really have to do all of it? What… everything?

Welcome, friends, to my new blog – I begin this way because, originally, I penned this with the intention of it being the first post; but then life happened and it’s now the third fourth post. Never mind.

To be honest, I don’t even know if I’m doing the write thing by staring to blog again (see what I did there?). My reasons for throwing myself back into the blogoshpere are because I recently watched a great Creative Live course on getting published and came away feeling hugely motivated. So, whilst still in that upbeat frame of mind, I created this blog, started a new Twitter account, revamped my email, created a new facebook page, looked into getting a website running, &c, &c. I felt confident that all this would go towards me connecting with others and maybe even selling a few copies of my book. (Eventually. When it’s ready).

Just the very next day though, after diving into my new-found pool of internet motivation and activism, I came crashing back down with a splat and began to question my newly found path to literary nirvana. The digital mire started to thicken like soup and it slowly became apparent that maybe I should be getting myself into writers’ forums; start producing some short stories to gain recognition and win awards ; write a poem; do some reviews; offer proof reading services; read, follow and comment on every single blog post by fellow writers; take a short course, take a long course, take an intermediate course and take an online course; and, of course, keep writing my second book; editing the first book; contacting agents; pestering publishers; considering self-publishing…  Arrrrrggggh.

I can’t do all of this. It’s impossible. But then I feel if I miss out just one aspect, that could be my downfall. Therefore, the only people to ever read my book will be my dad and my father-in-law (and perhaps a few polite friends).

It also seems that everybody else is managing to do all of this, so why can’t I?

So, if anyone reading this has experience of any of the above, then some honest advice would be most appreciated. Thanks.

Oh yes, and I’ve been told to always finish with a question. Ok then: does anybody out there actually partake in every form of publicity/connection/media, &c? And, if they do, when do they find time to actually write anything? Answers on a postcard please…

Thanks for reading.

5 comments on “Do I really have to do all of it? What… everything?

  1. sandradan1 says:

    Welcome to the mad world of ‘trying to get published’! Did you happen to read Jonathan Franzen the other week on this very subject?
    http://www.theguardian.com/books/2013/sep/13/amazon-yakkers-braggers-jonathan-franzen
    I share your pain. I too decided to improve my online profile in order to attract agents to my first novel [blog, Facebook, Linked In, but not Twitter, I drew the line there] and haven’t worked on my second novel since March. I’m giving it a year, then I’m going back to proper writing. Good luck! SD

    • gpeynon says:

      Thanks for commenting and for the link. I shall go and have a read.

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one: I thought I probably wasn’t, but to hear from others who share my pain is therapeutic.

      Thanks again.

      Gareth

  2. Okay, I have no advice. But we can commiserate.

    I also took a course that claimed I must get out there, start a blog, get a Twitter handle, create a Facebook page. And then of course, network like crazy. It’s not enough to just write posts, you have to comment on everyone else’s posts–which is great. I enjoy reading other blog posts and having little comment conversations. But when am I supposed to actually write my novel??

    Between writing my posts, replying to comments, commenting on other blogs and keeping up with Twitter, half my day is spent. The remainder then goes to my consulting business (you have to pay the bills, right?).

    I’ve even resorted to getting up at 6:00 a.m., which if you know me is no small feat. And I still can’t get any real writing time in. What’s really scary is I plan on participating in NaNoWriMo this year. How the heck am I supposed to do that??

    *Sighs and pushes Post Comment button before moving on to the next blog post* 🙂

    • gpeynon says:

      Ha ha!

      Yes, exactly. Nice to know we are singing from the same hymn sheet. I agree that it takes time to comment, but that a network is oh-so-important. I’ve only just started to build mine, so I’ve no idea how busy it will keep me in, say, a year from now. Although, like you say, it can be fun connecting too.

      *Smiles and pushes the Reply button. 🙂

Anything to add?

