A Sample Edit? Don’t Mind If I Do, Thanks…

Welcome, friends,

Editing 1I’ve just sent my first ten pages off for a sample edit to be done (for free, I hasten to add) and I have to say that it was the best non-spending of money I’ve ever not spent.

First of all can I say thanks to Jon from Editing For Authors who not only did the work, but also offered some very encouraging words about my book and its concept. He was also most prompt and very professional.

I always knew that an edit is needed, but it was amazing to see how these pros find all the stuff we, as writers, should find but don’t because we’re too wrapped up in the creative process – or something like that.

Editing 2

I’ll finish off by reaching out to other fellow first-timers out there. Get one of these done. No matter how good you think your work is (and, naturally I knew mine was perfect) there is still plenty that can be found by a pro. Plus it’ll improve your stuff, and that can only be a good thing.

So that’s it. That’s pretty much all I wanted to say.

Finally, though, can anyone come up with and ideas of how I can get this done for free? I’m skint at the moment. How about blackmail? Threatening letters to the editors? Selling my soul? My body…?

P.S. If you fancy reading on, I’ve included a short before and after example papagraph highlighting how the simple things make such a difference (changes highlighted in red):

Before…

His ship was a mess and he found himself surveying the carnage splayed around him with an unfamiliar feeling of impending doom. His solar sails were in tatters; his rigging was shredded and hanging limp in several places; the ion propulsion drives were phasing in and out of consciousness and half his complement of neutron spike cannon were either destroyed or now dripping with the parts of what once were their guncrews. He had absolutely no idea of what to do next, except to run and try to prolong the moment that an inevitable closing broadside would send them all to hell.

After…

His ship was a mess, and he found himself surveying the carnage < > around him with an unfamiliar feeling of impending doom. His solar sails were in tatters; his rigging was shredded and hanging limp in several places; the ion propulsion drives were phasing in and out of consciousness; and half his complement of neutron spike cannon were either destroyed or < > dripping with the parts of what once had been their guncrews. He had absolutely no idea of what to do next, except to run and try to prolong the moment when an inevitable closing broadside would send them all to hell.

I know differences aren’t huge, but it’s the small things that matter, eh?

Thanks for reading,

Gareth

2 comments on “A Sample Edit? Don’t Mind If I Do, Thanks…

  1. Dorian says:

    This reminds me of Stephen King’s On Writing! I can always use a good figurative slap-in-the-face about filler words and adverbs… You’re an enjoyable writer/personality to read. Thanks for the post.

    • gpeynon says:

      Wow. Thank you very much. Being compared to one of the greats is most humbling, but much appreciated. I’ve had a couple more of these sample edits come back, and one of them, while praising my work in general, tore it to shreds at the same time. In a sick kind of way, I felt this was actually the best of all my samples (and the most expensive too).

      Thanks for commenting.

Anything to add?

